Spine Anatomy

The spine, also called the back bone, is resolvable for offering support and structure to the entire body. The 34 bones work together to help us bend and twist, while also protect one of the most important features of the human body; the spinal cord.

The spine is made up of 5 different sections. This includes:

  • Cervical spine

  • Thoracic spine

  • Lumbar spine

  • Sacrum (sacral spine)

  • Coccyx

Sacrum and coccyx

The sacrum is a triangle shaped bones that is located just below the lumbar spine. These bones form the back of the pelvis, sitting either side of the hip bones; this is also close to the SI joint.

Underneath the sacrum is the coccyx, which is often referred to as the tail bone. Although these are small bones it is very important in ensuring that the weight of our body is supported when we sit down.

Lumbar spine

The lumbar spine is out lower back, sitting between the sacrum and thoracic spine. The 5, or sometimes 6 vertebrae in the spine are very thick and dense, supporting around 2/3 of our whole-body weight.

Thoracic spine

The thoracic spine is the longest and most complex section of the spine, connecting to both the cervical spine and lumbar spine. This section of spine helps to support the rib cage, which is essential to protecting the vital organs within our body such as the heart and lungs.

Cervical spine

The cervical spine, your neck, is the highest section of the spine, connecting the skull and spine. This is the most mobile and delicate section of the spine, consisting of 7 bones. The bones in this section of the spine are slightly different to the others as they are uniquely shaped to protect the spinal cord as it exits the skull.

This article is intended to inform and give insight but not treat, diagnose or replace the advice of a doctor. Always seek medical advice with any questions regarding a medical condition.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All